Please be advised that due to scheduled maintenance, our websites will be down on Monday, December 19th, 2022 from 5:30 pm until 8:00 pm. We apologize for any inconvenience.
Interested in adding your event?
Click to Submit an Event
Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.
Event Series Event Series: NJ Boating Safety Certificate Course

NJ Boating Safety Certificate Course

April 7 @ 9:00 am - 5:30 pm

To operate a personal watercraft (Jet Ski, Wave Runner, etc.), or a power vessel on the waters of the State of New Jersey you are required to possess a New Jersey boat safety certificate. This class meets the State of New Jersey – Division of State Police Marine Law Enforcement requirements for boat safety education.  Temporary certifications will be given upon successful completion of the course.  All Boat Safe US Courses are recognized by the U.S. Coast Guard and approved by the National Association of State Boating Law Administrators (NASBLA) which means you can use your NJ boat safety certificate in other states.


We at Boat Safe US look forward to being your Boat Safety Instructors and helping you earn your NJ Boating Safety Certificate.  Our instructors will provide you with a fun, educational look at Boat Safety in New Jersey.  We will hand you the book and walk you through the material.  At the end of the class, you’ll take a 60-question multiple-choice test.  We’ll grade it right there and when you pass with a score of 80 or better, you’ll leave with a temporary boating safety certificate, and receive your NJSP-issued card in the mail.


Children can take the course at 12 years old.  In New Jersey, there are two minimum ages, 13 years old for vessels powered by electric trolling motors, or vessels 12′ or longer with less than 10 total HP. Operators of all other power vessels, including personal watercraft, must be at least sixteen years old, this includes out-of-state residents.


Classes are completed in a one-day class (8 1/2 hour day including lunch break and test time) or in two evenings (two 3 1/2 hour classes with mandatory homework).  At the conclusion of the class, every student, age 13 and over, will receive a valid New Jersey State Boaters Safety Certificate. This Certificate is valid for Power Boats and Jet Skis (age 16 and over) and is accepted throughout many states as a valid form of having completed a Boaters Safety Course.



Classes are $100, register at




Proctored Exams Available!! Take the online course with Ace Boating, Boat-Ed, or Boater-Exam and take the proctored exam with Boat Safe US! The proctored exam is $50, collected at the exam site in the form of cash or check.  Must register!  See our schedule at


Toms River Elks Lodge #1875
600 Washington Street
Toms River, NJ 08753 United States
+ Google Map
(732) 349-9660
View Venue Website
Interested in adding your event?
Click to Submit an Event