The First, Largest and Most Active
New Jersey County Site on the Internet
Alexander Pushkin bronze monument erected in 1949 on the 150th annivarsary of his birth. Pushkin was the first Russian romantic poet and playwright. Cassville.
Prospertown Schoolhouse (732)928-1200
Lacey Schoolhouse Museum (609)971-0467 Forked River
Woodmansie Estate (now part of the New Jersey State Game Farm), includes some of the finest surviving Federal architecture in Ocean County.
Potter Meeting House at Good Luck marks the birthplace of the Universalist Church in America. The present church was built in 1841, and the surrounding churchyard dates back to 1749 where several revolutionary soldiers are buried. Thomas Potter, who built the original church in 1766, is buried near the back corner of the church.
Navy Lakehurst Historical Society (732)244-8861 www.nlhs.com
Lakehurst Naval Air Warfare Center, aircraft division. Situated on lands first used to test munitions for the Russian Imperial Army before World War I. Site of the "Hindenberg" disaster.(732)323-2620
Strand Theatre - built in 1919 by architect Thomas Lamb, when Lakewood was an important Society resort. Originally an ornate movie palace, today it is the home of the Ocean County Center for the Arts.
Barnegat Lighthouse "Old Barney" 172 ft. tower that marks the entrance to Barnegat Inlet (609)494-2016
Beach Haven Multiple Resource Area contains nearly seventy of the original hotels and large summer cottages built in ornate styles for a largely Philadelphia clientele.
Beach Haven Then and Now - A photo gallery of the past and the present.
Long Beach Island Historical Museum (609)492-0700, Beach Haven
Stafford Township Stone Store Museum (609)597-7416
|Ocean County Court House and old Jail maintain their original 1850 appearance. Ocean county Library Headquarters is housed in the renovated 1857 Presbyterian Church.|
|Ocean County Historical Museum - An old Victorian Home with historical exhibits and genealogy library. (732)341-1880|
|Toms River Blockhouse stands in Huddy Park on Water Street and Route 166. This is a replica of the original structure burned by the British in 1782|
U.S. Life Saving Station No. 14 During the latter half of the 19th century this station was manned during the stormy winter season by "surfmen" or "life savers," credited with saving the lives of many shipwreck victims. This station is one of the best preserved and its picturesque seashore setting reflects the era of sailing vessels. Island Beach State Park
The Tuckerton Seaport - Dedicated to preserving, presenting and interpreting the rich maritime history, heritage, and environment of the Jersey Shore and the unique contributions of its Baymen. (609)296-8868
Giffordtown Schoolhouse Museum (609)296-2394
Little Egg Harbor Seanic Drive - Follow Great Bay Boulevard from the center of Tuckerton through a wetlands preserve to the banks of Great Bay. An Indian Shell Mound, left by the Lenni Lenape, rises from the meadows to the east of the road. In waters to the west are the remains of the Crab Island Fish Factory. At the end of the drive stands the old Egg Harbor Coast Guard Station, now part of the Rutgers University Marine Research Center, which looks across Great Bay to the skyline of Atlantic City.